Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
February 2011
Latest News

Academic Groups Condemn Glenn Beck's Attacks on Frances Fox Piven

The Invisible Bridge

In a joint statement, twenty-three academic groups condemned Fox News commentator Glenn Beck for language they believe has incited threats against noted sociology and political science professor Frances Fox Piven, author of Poor People's Movements and Regulating the Poor. The groups maintain that while "Mr. Beck has not directly called for violence against Professor Piven, his attacks have created a space for threats of violence to emerge." The groups go on to voice their support of Piven's research and to defend her right to not only analyze and publish that research but to have her conclusions "reported accurately in public debates."

Julie Orringer Named Finalist for 2011 Sam Rohr Prize

The Invisible Bridge

Julie Orringer's The Invisible Bridge has been named one of five finalists for the Jewish Book Council's 2011 Sami Rohr Prize. The Sami Rohr Prize is awarded to help sustain and encourage contemporary writers who contribute to the exploration and promotion of Jewish values. The winner will receive $100,000 and runner-up will get $25,000. The winner will be announced after March 15th and will be awarded at a ceremony on May 31st.

In Brief

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: