Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
October 2010
Latest News

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks Named Finalist for Two Book Awards

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot has been named a finalist for two book awards: global charitable foundation Wellcome Trust's 2010 Wellcome Trust Book Prize, which celebrates medicine in literature, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science's 2010 Prize for Excellence in Science Books, which honors science writing that is accessible to all age groups. Winners will be announced in November 2010 and February 2011, respectively.

Finalists Named for National Book Awards

National Book Award Finalists

Recently named Finalists for the 2010 National Book Awards, one of the nation's most prestigious literary prizes, include: for fiction, Peter Carey's Parrot and Olivier in America and, for non-fiction, Barbara Demick's Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea and Megan K. Stack's Every Man in This Village Is a Liar. The award will be presented on November 17th.

National Book Awards Finalists

In Brief
Melvin Urofsky's biography of former United States Supreme Court justice Louis D. Brandeis has won the Erwin N. Griswold Prize. Awarded on an occasional basis for noteworthy books concerning the history of the Court, the recipient—in addition to a monetary prize—is invited to deliver a lecture based on the winning book at the Supreme Court of the United States. The last Griswold Prize was awarded in 2005.
David Malouf was awarded the Criticos Prize, given to the author of an original work in English inspired by Greece or Hellenic culture. Malouf's novel, Ransom, a reimagining of Achilles' slaughter and desecration of Hector and King Priam's attempt to ransom his son's body is adapted from Homer's The Iliad. Recently honored in Athens, Malouf is the first Australian to receive the Criticos Prize and Ransom, his tenth novel, is the first novel to win the award. C.P. Cavafy's Collected Poems, translated by David Mendelsohn, was among the titles shortlisted for the prize.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: