Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
November 2009
Latest News

Our National Book Award Winners

The First Tycoon

Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann (Random House) has received the 2009 National Book Award for Fiction and The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt by T. J. Stiles (Knopf) has been announced as the Nonfiction winner.

Click here for a complete list of the 2009 National Book Award Finalists.

2009 Asian American Literary Award Winners

Unaccustomed Earth

Jhumpa Lahiri has won the Twelfth Annual Asian American Literary Award in Fiction for her short story collection Unaccustomed Earth, and Ed Park's Personal Days was named a finalist for the award. Leslie T. Chang won in the nonfiction category for her book Factory Girls: From Village to City in a Changing China.

Ajai Singh "Sonny" Mehta, chairman and editor-in-chief of the Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, was named the 2009 winner of The Asian American Writers' Workshop's Lifetime Achievement Award. Click here for more information.

The Woodsburner Wins Fiction Prize

The Woodsburner

John Pipkin's The Woodsburner (Nan A. Talese), a first novel about a forest fire accidentally set by Henry David Thoreau, has won the Center for Fiction's 2009 First Novel Prize. It was named the winner from a short list that included The Vagrants by Yiun Li (Random House). Last year's winner, The Book Thief author Hannah Tinti, presented the award at a ceremony on November 9.

In Brief
Evie Wyld has won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for her debut novel After the Fire, a Still Small Voice. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, author of The Thing Around Your Neck, was on the short list. The prize celebrates the best work of literature (fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or drama) by a UK or Commonwealth writer aged 35 or under.
Claude Lévi-Strauss, the French anthropologist who transformed Western understanding of the nature of culture, custom and civilization, has died at the age of 100. In Myth and Meaning, a collection of radio lectures originally delivered on the Canadian radio series "Ideas," Lévi-Strauss offered his insights from a lifetime spent interpreting myths and trying to discover their significance for human understanding.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: