Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
September 2009
Latest News


We are excited to present our new academic blog Debate this Book. Leading thinkers, such as Daniel Goleman, Azar Nafisi and Phil Zimbardo, will contribute essays on debates of the day—and you get a chance to respond. This unique blog blends polemic, commentary and discussion, all centered around books. Click here to check out the blog and add your voice to the debate.

Debate this Book now joins Random House's other academic blogs Common Reads and Make Me Required Reading.

Science Book Prize Winners

Your Inner Fish

Neil Shubin, author of Your Inner Fish, has won a 2009 National Academy Communication Book Award for "excellence in reporting and communicating science, engineering and medicine to the public."

Age of Wonder, Richard Holmes' extraordinary account of how science inspired the romantic generation, has won the Royal Society Prize for Science Books.

First Novel Prize Shortlist Announced

The Center for Fiction (formerly the Mercantile Center) has just announced the short list for the First Novel Prize 2009 (formerly the John Sargent Sr. prize) and American Rust by Philipp Meyer (Spiegel & Grau), The Vagrants by Yiyun Lin (Random House) and Woodsburner by John Pipkin (Nan A. Talese) are among the five finalists. The winner will be announced November 9th. The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti (Dial Press) won last year's prize.

In FED We Trust shortlisted for Business Book of the Year

The Children's Book is shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

The Children's Book

The Man Booker Prize 2009 short list has been announced and The Children's Book by A.S. Byatt, which will be available from Knopf on October 6, is among the six finalists. A.S. Byatt is in the running for a second win—her novel Possession won the Booker Prize in 1990.

In Brief
Edwidge Danticat, author of Brother, I'm Dying, Breath, Eyes, Memory and The Dew Breaker, is a recipient of a 2009 MacArthur "Genuis" Fellowship. Danticat discussed the high honor and what she's planning to do with the $500,000 grant on NPR.
Peace by Richard Bausch has won the 2009 Dayton Literary Peace Prize for fiction. Authors and journalists Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn (Half the Sky, China Wakes) will receive the 2009 Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Lifetime Achievement.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: