Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
December 2008
Latest News

Knopf Doubleday Group Wins 9 out of 10 Best Books of the Year

The editors of the New York Times Book Review have selected their Ten Best Books of the Year for 2008. Nine of the ten titles, which were selected from the list of 100 Notable Books of 2008, are from the The Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group:

Dangerous Laughter by Steven Millhauser (Knopf)
A Mercy by Toni Morrison (Knopf)
Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri (Knopf)
The Forever War by Dexter Filkins (Knopf)
Nothing To Be Frightened Of by Julian Barnes (Knopf)
This Republic Of Suffering by Drew Gilpin Faust (Knopf)
The World Is What It Is by Patrick French (Knopf)
Netherland by Joseph O'Neill (Pantheon)
The Dark Side by Jane Mayer (Doubleday)

Our 2008 National Book Award Winner

book cover

Peter Matthiessen has won the 2008 National Book Award in Fiction for Shadow Country (Modern Library), a great American epic of the wild Florida frontier at the turn of the twentieth century which The New York Times said is " powerful a reading experience as nearly any in our literature."

Knopf author Maxine Hong Kingston was awarded the NBA's 2008 Medal for
Distinguished Contribution to American Letters
, which is presented in conjunction with the The National Book Awards by the Board of Directors of the Foundation. The recipient is a person who has enriched our literary heritage over a life of service, or a corpus of work.

This Republic of Suffering: Death and the American Civil War by Drew Gilpin Faust (Alfred A. Knopf) and The Dark Side: The Inside Story of How the War on Terror Turned into a War on American Ideals by Jane Mayer (Doubleday) were finalists this year in the Nonfiction category.

For the complete list of NBA winners and finalists click here.

In Brief
Hannah Tinti has won the 2008 John Sargent Sr. First Novel Prize for The Good Thief (The Dial Press). Awarded by The Mercantile Library Center for Fiction, the John Sargent Sr. First Novel Prize was created by the Center as part of its mission to promote the art of fiction in the United States.
Nathan Englander has won the 2008 Harold U. Ribalow Prize for The Ministry of Special Cases (Vintage). Administered by Hadassah Magazine, the Harold U. Ribalow Prize is an annual award for Jewish fiction. Eligible books include novels and short-story collections published in English.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: