Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
September 2008
Latest News

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Wins MacArthur Genius Grant

author photo

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, author of Half of a Yellow Sun and Purple Hibiscus (Anchor), has been selected by the MacArthur Foundation as a 2008 MacArthur Fellow. The MacArthur Fellows Program awards unrestricted fellowships to talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction. Each fellowship comes with a stipend of $500,000 to the recipient, paid out in equal quarterly installments over five years.

Yaroslav Trofimov Wins the Washington Institute Book Prize

book cover

Yaroslav Trofimov has won the Washington Institute of Near East Policy's Gold Prize
for The Siege of Mecca (Anchor), a gripping account of the takeover of Islam's holiest shrine. The Bronze Prize went to Anthony Pagden for Worlds at War (Random House), a stunning work of history that delves deep into the roots of the "clash of civilizations" between East and West. The Washington Institute Book Prize is awarded annually to three outstanding new books that have illuminated the Middle East for American readers. With this prize, The Washington Institute seeks to acknowledge the very best new works on the region.

Major New Shakespeare Series

book cover

Modern Library has launched a major, new series of individual paperback plays from the internationally renowned Royal Shakespeare Company, edited by acclaimed Shakespearean scholars Jonathan Bate and Eric Rasmussen (William Shakespeare: Complete Works).

Now available:

A Midsummer Night's Dream | Hamlet | Love's Labour's Lost | Richard III | The Tempest

Each individual edition includes:

· expanded introduction and an overview of Shakespeare's theatrical career

· a new section which explores the theatrical history of the play as well as modern-day production choices through original interviews with today's leading directors and theatrical professionals

· a scene-by-scene analysis and key facts about the play

· a Shakespeare chronology

· black-and-white photos featuring original production shots from the RSC

All titles are available on this website. For more information about the series, click here.

In Brief
Jean Edward Smith, author of FDR, has been awarded the 2008 Francis Parkman Prize, given annually by the Society of American Historians to the best nonfiction book on an American theme published the previous year.
The National Book Foundation has announced that Knopf author Maxine Hong Kingston will receive the 2008 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters at the upcoming National Book Awards ceremony on November 19. Hong Kingston won an NBA in 1981, in the general nonfiction category for China Men (Vintage). According to the National Book Foundation, Hong Kingston "has employed a range of literary styles and stories in her work to create a startling new approach to immigrant memoir and fiction and influence two generations of American writers."
Philip Hensher's The Northern Clemency (Knopf) and Steve Toltz's A Fraction of the Whole (Spiegel & Grau) have been shorlisted for the 2008 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. Now in its 40th year, The Man Booker Prize aims to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland. The winner of the prize receives £50,000.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: