Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
The Latest News

2008 PEN Literary Award Recipients Announced

Pen Banner

Naeem Murr, author of The Perfect Man (Random House Trade Paperback), has been awarded a 2008 PEN/Beyond Margins Award, which celebrates exceptional books by writers of color published in the United States. Sponsored by the Open Book Program, this award also helps to insure that "those who are the custodians of language and literature are representative of the American people".

Knopf author Cynthia Ozick has been awarded the PEN/Nabokov Award, which celebrates the accomplishments of a living author whose body of work, either written in or translated into English, represents achievement in a variety of literary genres and is of enduring originality and consummate craftsmanship. The PEN/Faulkner Foundation will also be honoring Ms. Ozick with the 2008 PEN/Malamud Award. This prize recognizes a body of work that demonstrates excellence in the art of short fiction.

The PEN/Faulkner Foundation recently awarded Kate Christensen with their 2008 award for Fiction for her novel The Great Man (Anchor).

Finalists include:
Julie Kavanagh, author of Nureyev: The Life (Pantheon Books), for the The PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography , which is a biennial prize of $10,000 given to a distinguished biography possessing notable literary merit.

Peter Constantine for the PEN Translation Prize for his translation from the Italian of The Essential Writings of Machiavelli by Niccolo Machiavelli (Modern Library).

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: