Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
January 2008
Latest News

Chandra Manning Wins Avery O. Craven Award

book cover

Chandra Manning has won the Organization of American Historians' Avery O. Craven Award for What This Cruel War Was Over. The Avery O. Craven Award, first given in 1985, is awarded annually for the most original book on the coming of the Civil War, the Civil War years, or the Era of Reconstruction, with the exception of works of purely military history. The award will be presented at the upcoming OAH conference in New York City in March.

Day by A.L. Kennedy Wins 2007 Costa Book of the Year

book cover

book cover

Scottish author and stand-up comedian A.L. Kennedy has won the 2007 Costa Book of the Year award for her fifth novel, Day; the story of a former RAF prisoner-of-war returning to Germany to confront his demons.
Day was also selected as a Category Award Winner for the Costa Novel Award, along with Young Stalin by Simon Sebag Montefiore, which won the Costa Biography Award. One winner is selected in each of the five categories; Novel, First Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book, and each category-winning author receives £5,000. One of these five books is selected as the overall winner of the Book of the Year and receives a further £25,000. The Costa Book Awards, formerly the Whitbread Literary Awards, is one of the most prestigious and popular literary prizes in the UK and recognizes some of the most enjoyable books of the year by writers based in the UK and Ireland.

In Brief
A Pigeon and a Boy by Meir Shalev has been awarded the National Jewish Book Award for Fiction. The award ceremony will be held on March 4 in New York City at the Center for Jewish History.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: