Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
July 2007
Latest News

Three Random House, Inc. Titles Nominated for 2007 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award for Black Literature

book cover

The Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation has announced their nominees for the 2007 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award for Black Literature, which include Unbowed by Wangari Maathai, Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Wizard of the Crow by Ngugi wa Thiong'o. This is the first national award presented to published writers of African descent by the national community of Black writers. The award, underwritten by Borders Books & Music, consists of prizes for the highest quality writing in the categories of Fiction, Debut Fiction, Nonfiction, and Contemporary Fiction. The Awards Ceremony will be held at the National Press Club in Washington DC on November 2.

James M. McPherson Wins Pritzker Military Library Literature Award

book cover

Civil War historian James M. McPherson has been awarded the first Pritzker Military Library Literary Award, a $100,000 prize presented for lifetime accomplishments in military history. Professor emeritus of history at Princeton University, McPherson won the Pulitzer Prize for Battle Cry of Freedom, and he is also the author of Hallowed Ground, The Negro's Civil War, and What They Fought For 1861-1865. The prize will be presented in October.

In Brief

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: