Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
April 2007
Latest News

David Halberstam Dies at Age 73

book cover

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and best-selling author David Halberstam was killed on April 23rd in a car crash south of San Francisco.

Wide-ranging and always incisive, his books--such as The Best and the Brightest, The Children and The Fifties--cover eclectic and varied subject matter, yet are all grounded in relentless research and unsurpassed reportage.

Mr. Halberstam most recently edited Defining A Nation: America and the Source of Its Strength, a collection of essays on America.

Random House, Inc.'s 2007 Pulitzer Prizes

The Road

Random House, Inc. is pleased to announce that four of our titles have been awarded 2007 Pulitzer Prizes. The winners are as follows:

Fiction: The Road by Cormac McCarthy
History: The Race Beat: The Press, the Civil Rights Struggle, and the Awakening of a Nation by Gene Roberts and Hank Klibanoff
Biography: The Most Famous Man in America: The Biography of Henry Ward Beecher by Debby Applegate
General Nonfiction: The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11 by Lawrence Wright

Ray Bradbury also received a Special Citation for his distinguished, prolific and deeply influential career as an unmatched author of science fiction and fantasy.

Click here for a complete listing of the 2007 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Kurt Vonnegut Dies at Age 84

book cover

Counterculture literary hero and bestselling author Kurt Vonnegut has passed away at the age of 84. Critically-acclaimed yet also controversial, many of his novels—including Slaughterhouse-Five, Cat's Cradle, and Breakfast of Champions—have become modern-day classics as well as course adoption staples.

Random House most published his most recent work, A Man Without A Country, in paperback this past January.

Please click here for a complete listing of his work available from Random House.

Random House, Inc. Welcomes North Atlantic Books

Random House, Inc. is pleased to welcome North Atlantic Books as one of our newest distribution clients.

North Atlantic is a leading and eclectic publisher of books covering a variety of topics—including political science, psychology, and religion—and is fiercely committed to the development and dissemination of new and non-traditional ideas.

Click here for a complete list of titles published by North Atlantic Books

Philip Roth Wins Inaugural PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction

book cover

PEN American Center, the nation's preeminent association of writers, editors and translators, has announced that acclaimed novelist Philip Roth will be the first recipient of a major new literary prize, the PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction. The award, selected by a panel of three PEN members or similarly qualified persons, goes to a distinguished living American author of fiction whose body of work in English possesses qualities of excellence, ambition, and scale of achievement over a sustained career which place him or her in the highest rank of American literature. Mr. Roth will receive the PEN/Saul Bellow Award at the 2007 PEN Literary Awards ceremony on May 21, 2007.

In Brief
Two Random House titles won the 2007 Los Angeles Times Book Award. Neal Gabler's Walt Disney: The Triumph of the American Imagination won the award for biography, and Lawrence Wright's The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11 won for history.
Awarded by the Mystery Writers of America, the Edgar Awards celebrate creative achievement in the field of mystery-writing. Alex Berenson won Best First Novel by an American Author for The Faithful Spy and Naomi Hirahara won Best Paperback Original for Snakeskin Shamisen.
Novelist, cultural critic, and poet Albert Murray has been awarded the W.E.B. Du Bois Medal by Harvard University's W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research. His most recent book was The Magic Keys (Vintage).

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: