Subjects Freshman Year Reading African American Studies African Studies American Studies Anthropology Art, Film, Music and Architecture Asian Studies Business and Economics Criminology Education Environmental Studies Foreign Language Instructional Materials Gender Studies History Irish Studies Jewish Studies Latin American & Caribbean Studies Law and Legal Studies Literature and Drama Literature in Spanish Media Issues, Journalism and Communication Middle East Studies Native American Studies Philosophy Political Science Psychology Reference Religion Russian and Eastern European Studies Science and Mathematics Sociology Study Aids

E-Newsletters: Click here to be notified of new titles in your field
Click here to request Desk/Exam copies
Freshman Year Reading
View Our Award Winners
Click here to view our Catalogs
Vintage Classics
Word and Film
Pantheon Graphic Novels
Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Half the Sky

WWI Centennial
Latest News

Salman Rushdie Awarded 2014 PEN/Pinter Prize

John Hollander

Salman Rushdie, acclaimed author of many books including Midnight's Children, The Satanic Verses, and Shalimar the Clown, has been awarded the 2014 PEN/Pinter Prize. This prize, established in memory of Nobel-Laureate playwright Harold Pinter, was given to Rushdie to honor his private acts of kindness and unrelenting fight for freedom of expression. Rushdie will accept his award at the British Library in London on October 9th, 2014.

Maya Angelou Passes Away at 86


Maya Angelou passed away on Wednesday, May 28th at her home in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. She was 86 years old. An award-winning poet, writer, performer, teacher, and director, Dr. Angelou was raised in Stamps, Arkansas, and then moved to San Francisco. Her first book, the groundbreaking autobiography I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, was published in 1969 to critical acclaim and has become a core text in middle school, high school and college reading lists across the country. Dr. Angelou went on to write thirty-five more books, including volumes of poetry, essay collections, children's books, cookbooks, and six further memoirs. Click here to read her full obituary in The New York Times.

Gabriel García Márquez Passes Away at 87


Nobel Laureate and renowned author Gabriel García Márquez passed away this week at the age of 87 at his home in Mexico City. The foremost master of magical realism, he gained worldwide fame for classics like One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera, and his novels have been translated into dozens of languages and sold tens of millions of copies. Click here to read his full obituary in The New York Times and click here to read a tribute from Edwidge Danticat in The New Yorker.

Toms River Wins Pulitzer Prize

Toms River

Random House LLC is proud to announce that Dan Fagin's Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation (Bantam), an astonishing work of investigative reporting about a small town ravaged by industrial pollution, has been awarded the 2014 Pulitzer Prize in the General Nonfiction category. In the book, Fagin recounts the sixty-year saga of rampant pollution and inadequate oversight that made Toms River, New Jersey, a cautionary example for fast-growing industrial towns. Named one of the best books of the year by NPR and Kirkus Reviews, The New York Times called the book "a new classic of science reporting . . . a sober story of probability and compromise, laid out with the care and precision that characterizes both good science and great journalism."

Gary J. Bass's Blood Telegram: Nixon, Kissinger, and a Forgotten Genocide (Knopf) was a finalist in the General Nonfiction category (Paperback Available July 2014). For a full list of previous Random House Pulitzer Prize winners please click here.

ALA Carnegie Medal Shortlist Announced

Carnegie Medal

The American Library Association has announced the shortlists for their 2014 Carnegie Medals in Fiction & Nonfiction. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah (Knopf) and Edwidge Danticat's Claire of the Sea Light (Knopf) were shortlisted for fiction while Nicholas Basbanes's On Paper: The Everything of Its Two-Thousand-Year History (Knopf) and Sheri Fink's Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital (Crown) were shortlisted in the nonfiction category. Established in 2012, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction "recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year." The winners will be announced at the ALA annual conference and will receive a $5,000 prize.

In Brief
British author Evie Wyld has won this year's Miles Franklin literary award for her novel All the Birds, Singing. The Miles Franklin award, which is awarded annually to a novel that best presents Australian life, is Australia's highest literary honor. Wyld's win was announced shortly after she received both the Encore award and Jerwood Fiction Uncovered prize.
Fouad Ajami, "often described as among the foremost scholars of the modern Arab and Islamic worlds" passed away on Sunday, June 22nd. Ajami rallied support for the United States invasion of Iraq in 2003, advised top policy makers in the Bush administration, and appeared regularly on CBS News, CNN, and PBS, where he provided commentary on Middle East affairs. Ajami was the author of several books, including The Dream Palace of the Arabs. His New York Times obituary can be read here.
Robert Harris has won the £25,000 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction for his latest novel An Officer And A Spy. Honoring Scott's achievements as one of the world's most influential novelists, the Walter Scott Prize is one of the UK's largest literary prizes.

Subscribe via RSS XMLNews Archive by Month: